Page content

The FENS Award celebrates an individual from or based in Europe who have made a significant contribution to nutrition science, either human or animal nutrition. 

The member countries of FENS are invited to nominate candidates from Europe for consideration by a committee appointed by the President of FENS.

The award winner is invited to participate in the closing ceremony of the FENS conference.

2023 FENS Award Winner

We were pleased to welcome the 2023 FENS award winner, Professor Francesco Visioli, to Belgrade to present his FENS Award lecture “A tale of luck, resilience, hard work, and [more] luck.

Previous FENS Award Recipients

The 2019 FENS Award winner, Professor Michael Gibney accepted his award in Dublin, Ireland.

Award WinnerConferenceLocationYear
Prof Francesco Visioli14th Belgrade2023
Prof Michael Gibney13thDublin2019
Dr Ibrahim Elmadfa12thBerlin2015
Prof Dr Patrice D. Cani10thParis2007
Prof Dr Martijn B. Katan9thRome2003
Prof Andrew Prentice8thLillehammer1999
Prof Helmut Haenel6thAthens1991
Prof Bjorn Isaksson5thWarsaw1987
Dr Elsie Widdowson4thAmsterdam1983