Page content

IUNS Travel Bursary To FENS 2019

To assist with attending the FENS 2019 Conference in Dublin, Ireland this October, The International Union of Nutritional Sciences (IUNS) is sponsoring travel to the conference. The Early Career Travel Bursary programme is available on a first-come-first-served basis.

Travel bursaries are available to those who can least afford to attend scientific meetings and conferences around the world. The bursaries are reserved for those in the early stages of their careers i.e. within 10 years of higher degree graduation, who have an abstract accepted at the conference.   

For more information on the criteria and to apply please go here

Food Based Dietary Guidelines

Dietary guidelines provide advice on foods, food groups, and dietary patterns to promote health, prevent chronic disease and ensure the public have a diet that provides the nutrients they require for health. Food based dietary guidelines establish a basis for public food and nutrition, health and agricultural policies and nutrition education programmes to encourage healthy eating habits and lifestyles.

FENS has worked for a several years supporting the capacity development of dietary recommendations and dietary guidelines in South-East European countries.

The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) has compiled a list of current Food Based Dietary Guidelines from over 100 of its member countries. More information and research about these guidelines can be found here

FENS Awards

The FENS Award is presented to a European colleague, recognised in the field of nutritional sciences and given in recognition for their achievements in their career. 

Members of FENS nominate candidates for consideration by the nominating committee. For more information and to download the nomination form please go to 

FENS Award Winners

ConferenceLocationYearAward Winners
4thAmsterdam1983Dr Elsie Widdowson
5thWarsaw1987Prof Bjorn Isaksson
6thAthens1991Prof Haenel
8thLillehammer1999Prof Andrew Prentice
9thRome2003Prof Dr Martijn B. Katan
10thParis2007Prof Dr Pratice D. Cani
12thBerlin2015Dr Ibrahim Elmadfa