Post content

Dr. Nevin S Scrimshaw Prize

IUNS are pleased to announce that their new prize which supports a mid-career nutrition scientist is now open for nominations.

The Nevin S. Scrimshaw Prize honours a nutrition scientist who is 15 years or less past completing their highest degree for exceptional contributions to the field of nutrition.   

Dr Scrimshaw’s career addressed nutritional challenges from laboratory to clinical research, to community nutrition and policy.  The prize recipient shall represent one or several of these areas of research.  Dr Scrimshaw emphasized mentoring and support for scientists in Asia, Africa, Latin America, and the Caribbean. In his honour, the recipient of the Nevin S. Scrimshaw Prize shall be from one of these regions and shall have worked in one of these regions.  The prize recipient will be expected to present a plenary session lecture at the IUNS-ICN meeting where the recipient’s prize is awarded and to subsequently submit a paper based on the lecture for publication in The Food and Nutrition Bulletin (FNB).  The prize will consist of financial support for congress registration, travel, lodging, and meals related to attendance at the IUNS-ICN meeting for the recipient, support for publication in the FNB, and a monetary award of $5000.

How to apply

All applications must include a letter of nomination clearly outlining why the candidate merits the award.  The letter should include (but is not limited to):

  • The career trajectory of the candidate.
  • Major contributions to a relevant area of laboratory or clinical research, community nutrition or policy with the potential to address nutritional challenges in Asia, Africa, and/or Latin America and the Caribbean.
  • Contribution to mentoring of early career professionals in an area relevant to nutrition in these contexts.
  • List of no more than 10 publications illustrative of these contributions.
  • The letter may be no longer than 5 pages (including references).
  • Name(s) and affiliation(s) of nominating individual(s).

All nominations must be received through the IUNS award platform before 23:59 pm (BST) on 19 June 2022.

Late, incomplete, and self-nominations will not be accepted.

See the full criteria and application process here